Celebrate Romance Blog Hop Sponsored by Fanged Fantasy

Standard

 

Image

 

My Favorite Romance Character

Hangs head down and raises right hand. My name is Kishan Paul and I’m a lover of romantic stories. It doesn’t matter how bad the story line is, if it’s about love I’ll read it. (Clarification: Romance between humans. No desire to read about man and animal/dinosaur/hairy extra-large footed creatures…sorry).

For a love story to make me clench my chest and sigh, there has to be certain specific elements: a handsome hunk, a lovely lady, some serious angst, and a whole lot of crying (the crying typically performed by yours truly). I have several favorites but my current go-to hunk and book  is Nicholas Sparks’ The Notebook.

A young man down on his luck, Noah, falls for the rich girl, Allie. Her family opposes the relationship as would be expected of most affluent parents whose daughters’ were fooling around with po’ folk. Noah, being the honorable hottie that he is, encourages Allie to go on to college. She does so and he enlists in the army. He writes her letters, none of which she receives. Thus begins the angst. He returns and she’s engaged to another. What ever will they do?

I won’t ruin the rest of the tale but let me tell you this is a story within a story. I used a whole box of Kleenex and needed a big hug from hubby dearest. Allie is confused and trying to figure out who she is, while Noah is the epitome of loyal and devoted. He’ll wait a lifetime for the one he loves.

“I am nothing special, of this I am sure. I am a common man with common thoughts and I’ve led a common life. There are no monuments dedicated to me and my name will soon be forgotten, but I’ve loved another with all my heart and soul, and to me, this has always been enough..”

-Nicholas Sparks, The Notebook

What’s cool about Noah is that like the quote says, he really isn’t what most of us might consider special. He’s not successful, an over-achiever, or educated. I’m not even sure if he could be categorized as the typical alpha male. But what he is, is much more valuable. He’s gentle but strong. He stands by his love through all their hardships and adores her long after she’s lost her youthful beauty.  Sigh. Love me some Noah.

 

Enter for a chance to win Symphony of Light and Winter by Renea Mason !!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

SymphonyofLightandWinter_ByReneaMason-800x1200

 

Check out what the other authors have to say about romance and for more chances to win.

http://www.valerietwombly.com/2014/04/04/celebrate-romance-giveaway-blog-hop/

About Kishan Paul

From daring escapes by tough women to chivalrous men swooping in to save the day, the creativity switch to Kishan Paul's brain is always in the 'on' position. If daydreaming stories were a college course, Kish would graduate with honors. Mother of two beautiful children, she has been married to her best friend for over 16 years. With the help of supportive family and friends, she balances her family, a thriving counseling practice, and writing without sinking into insanity.

8 responses