Interview with Renea Mason, author of Symphony of Light and Winter

Standard

Inline image 1

Today I have the pleasure of introducing you to my good friend, fellow Coffee Talk Writer, and published author, Renea Mason. Her book Symphony of Light and Winter was published this summer. Since then, she has received a ton of amazing reviews and developed a strong fan base. Some have said that Symphony of Light and Winter is 50 Shades meets Twilight and The Black Dagger Brotherhood. The work is expected to be in print in the next few months.

I have to tell you, Symphony was a story I couldn’t put down. Every chapter kept me hungry for more and ever since I finished, I’ve been waiting for the sequel.

K: Hi Renea, Thank you for joining me today.

R: Hi, Kish. Thanks for having me.

K: For those out there who haven’t read the book, tell our readers about the story.

R: It’s the story of Linden, a woman who suffered a tragic past.  She coped with her losses, only to have them return in the form of her once dead, beyond sexy, first love, Cyril. He’s back and he’s pissed.

Their turbulent re-acquaintance fueled by Cyril suspicion; leads to love, lust and sacrifice when Cyril’s nemesis makes Linden the pawn in his game. 

K: See and that’s one of the things I enjoyed about the book, the emotional strength of your characters. Not to mention the umm, beyond sexiness of them.

R:The beyond sexiness of them…Hmm…Can I quote that?

K: Of course.   What was your inspiration for Symphony?

R: That’s hard to say.  I kept having a few of the scenes flash through my mind from time to time and one day I decided to write them and then tie them all together. 

Beyond that, I have a love of music and alpha males in paranormal stories.  I combined them and Symphony was born.

I heard once that the best advice is to write what you would like to read.  That’s what I did.

 K: Linden and Cyril are very unique characters.  Tell us a little about these two powerful individuals.

R: Cyril was created by an all-powerful Goddess to be her lover after she developed a fascination with human procreation.  She took all of the best attributes found in men, conjured Cyril and embellished him so that he would be equipped to please a goddess.

Linden is your average businesswoman running from her proverbial demons, only to find that her past doesn’t compare to the tragedy and strife her future holds. 

K: A fascination for human procreation. (chuckles) Many humans find that fascinating as well. So we’ve got an alpha male created to pleasure a goddess obsessed with sex and a hottie who happens to be a kick butt independent woman. Sounds like a great combination.

R:I’d like to think so.

K: Cyril has a, ahem, unique family.  If you could spend time with one of them, which would it be?

R: Besides Cyril? (she winks) Overton for sure.

K: Overton, of course. (smiles)  Now, how did you know when your story was done?

R: It told me.

K: Really that’s the best answer you can give me?

R: (Laughs) I don’t want to spoil the end but the idea was to keep the readers wanting more without leaving them dissatisfied. When I wrote the final sentence, I knew this volume was complete.

K: So this is your first published novel. What’s that like?

R: Crazy. The process is crazy. The commitment is crazy, and most of all I’m crazy. It has been a very exciting time of my life, but it is also a big commitment. Writing the book was the easy part. Then came querying, waiting, and the endless marketing and promotion while you’re trying to complete the next installment. Mastering time management is a must, unless you can dedicate all of your attention to writing. I have another full-time career and a family so it’s a challenge but one I love.

K: And speaking of sequels.

R: I thought I was talking about my crazy life. (laughs)

K: Well you were but I wanted to talk about sequels. Will there be one? And what could we expect?

R: Yes. The sequel is in the works. The second novel explores a bit more about Overton.

K: You also have a fan club established. Can you tell our readers, how they can join.

R :  Yes.  I hate the name fan club.  It makes me think of Tiger Beat Magazine but I guess that’s what it is.  Anyone interested is welcome to join.  They can visit my website and click the FAn Club link at the top of the page. http://reneamason.com/fan-club/

K: Thanks for taking the time out of your fabulous published author life to meet with me. By the way, what does your fabulous published author life look like?

R: (Laughs and smooths down her hair) What does it look like?

Probably a bit like my garden—a whole lot of stuff growing, some creative elements peaking through and the constant feeling of “what the f*** am I doing,” permeating the entire process.  Yep, that’s about it.

Inline image 2

K: Here’s some more important information about the book.

Symphony of Light and Winter from Etopia Press – released June 21st, 2013

One woman. Seven men. All bound by one man’s undying devotion.

Fundraiser Linden Hill has a knack for reading people. She always knows which conversations will put a prospect at ease, which drink will loosen a patron’s lips—or his wallet, and how cleavage will make a donor sweeten the deal. She’s even foreseen her dateless weekends four hundred and sixty-four times in a row.

But ten years after watching life drain from her former mentor’s and first love’s eyes, her skills for divining the predictable are lost. When Cyril returns, he’s still gorgeous, but this time he’s beyond human, far less dead, and pissed. His lack of memory drives him to desperate acts, and his turbulent re-acquaintance with Linden pulls her into his war with a creature hell-bent on his destruction. His group of six supernatural men share a tantalizing secret, but despite the hunger, it’s love that leads her to sacrifice everything to save him…

About the author

renea

Renea Mason writes steamy romances to help even out the estrogen to testosterone imbalance caused by living in a house full of men.

When she isn’t putting pen to paper crafting sensual stories filled with supernatural lovers, she spends time with her beyond-supportive husband, two wonderful sons and three loving but needy cats.

She is also a founding member of the http://coffeetalkwriters.com/

coffeetalkwriters

Buy the book

Amazon.com

BarnesandNoble.com

AllRomanceeBooks.com

Kobo.com

Contact or follow Renea Mason

http://www.ReneaMason.com

http://www.Facebook.com/ReneaMasonAuthor

http://www.Facebook.com/symphonyoflightandwinter

http://www.Pinterest.com/ReneaMason

http://www.goodreads.com/ReneaMason

http://www.tumblr.com/blog/reneamasonauthor

https://twitter.com/ReneaMason1

S.ReneaMason@gmail.com

About Kishan Paul

From daring escapes by tough women to chivalrous men swooping in to save the day, the creativity switch to Kishan Paul's brain is always in the 'on' position. If daydreaming stories were a college course, Kish would graduate with honors. Mother of two beautiful children, she has been married to her best friend for over 16 years. With the help of supportive family and friends, she balances her family, a thriving counseling practice, and writing without sinking into insanity.

5 responses

  1. Omg, I could not put this story down. Ask Renea, I was clamoring for more. Lol. The mix of novels above is spot on and I, for one, cannot wait for the next book!

  2. Pingback: Kishan Paul interviews Renea Mason, author of Symphony of Light and Winter | Coffee Talk

  3. Pingback: Kishan Paul interviews Renea Mason, author of Symphony of Light and Winter | ReneaMason.com

  4. Pingback: Interview with Renea Mason, author of Symphony of Light and Winter | Cait Jarrod, Romantic Suspense Author